Book Review

The Wood | Book Review

Screen Shot 2017-07-24 at 10.27.28 PM

Author: Chelsea Bobulski

Rating: 5/5 Stars

Publication Date: August 1st, 2017

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Summary:

After her father goes missing in the woods that they protect, Winter tries to seek the truth in what happened, why the wood is changing, and what it all has to do with the arrival of a mysterious stranger in this thrilling YA debut.

When Winter’s dad goes missing during his nightly patrol of the wood, it falls to her to patrol the time portals and protect the travelers who slip through them. Winter can’t help but think there’s more to her dad’s disappearance than she’s being told.

She soon finds a young man traveling in the wood named Henry who knows more than he should. He believes if they can work together to find his missing parents, they could discover the truth about Winter’s dad.

The wood is poisoned, changing into something sinister—torturing travelers lost in it. Winter must put her trust in Henry in order to find the truth and those they’ve lost.

Bobulski’s eerie debut is filled with friendship, family, and the responsibilities we choose and those we do not.

Review:

Thank you so much to Feiwel & Friends for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

So, to start off, this is a completely unbiased post, meaning that no one’s opinions changed my view of the book. With that being said, as I was reading this book, I checked it in on Goodreads (like I always do) and started to read some of the comments. Many were saying how they were turned off by the cover, but I am not sure why? For me, it is the cover that DREW my to the book in the first place. Although, that may just be a “me thing”, which I love when covers represent a mystery. The cover is (slightly) misleading, as there is not really blood, but there are some gore and death.

This book took me completely by surprise. I have not heard of it anywhere until it had shown up on my doorstep. What I thought was going to happen and what actually happened were 2 different things.

This book is perfect for those who like:

Magic & Time Travel

Mystery

Forbidden Rules

and a Cute British Guy (of course)

The overall theme and main story line of the book was unlike anything I have read before, which made it fresh and unique. I found it a quick read for me because I just had to know what was going to happen next with Winter and “Brightonshire” (putting this so it is still somewhat a spoiler-free review).

The beginning had a bit of a slow build-up, but it paved the way for the more serious incidents to occur. From there, the author had a way of writing just enough to keep the reader at the edge of their seat. From the way the woods change to how everything is described, it feels as thou I was in the woods alongside Winter.

So, if this review has not convinced to check out this amazing book, the cover alone should do justice. This book needs to be on everyone’s radar, because, well, it is just an amazing tale!

screen-shot-2016-12-25-at-4-33-07-pm

 

Leave a Reply

