Book Review

One for Sorrow | Book Review

Screen Shot 2017-06-29 at 8.42.26 PM

Author: Mary Downing Hahn

Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

Publication Date: July 18th, 2017

Publisher: Clarion Books

Summary:

Against the ominous backdrop of the influenza epidemic of 1918, Annie, a new girl at school, is claimed as best friend by Elsie, a classmate who is a tattletale, a liar, and a thief. Soon Annie makes other friends and finds herself joining them in teasing and tormenting Elsie. Elsie dies from influenza, but then she returns to reclaim Annie’s friendship and punish all the girls who bullied her. Young readers who revel in spooky stories will relish this chilling tale of a girl haunted by a vengeful ghost.

Review:

Thank you so much to Raincoast Books for sending me an ARC copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

So, Mary Downing Hahn is one of the first authors that I read at a young age and I love everything about her writing style. Even though it is written for middle school, I can never get enough of her stories, which is why I just HAD to review this book.

This tale twists together a horrible incident in history with a child’s worst nightmare– being haunted by an ex-friend. The characters are perfectly described, from their appearance to how they act around different people.

Now, I absolutely DETESTED Elise, which is not common for me when reading books, but this was an exception. Everything about this girl pissed me off, even to the point of me cheering when she had died (I know, horrible, but once you read the book, you will be cheering too). I know it was wrong with what the girls had done to her, but she did have it coming for her.

I believe that if I had read this book about 10 years earlier, I would have been terrified to sleep at night. But being that I am 19, this had the perfect amount of ghostly-ness that is always present in Mary Downing Hahn’s writing.

I highly recommend this book to all of my fellow ghost story lovers, as this book is definitely going to send a shiver down your spine.

screen-shot-2016-12-25-at-4-33-07-pm

 

Leave a Reply

