Book Review

Bad Blood (The Naturals #4) | Book Review


Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Rating: 5+/5 Stars

Publication Date: November 1, 2016

Publisher:  Disney-Hyperion

Summary:

New victims. New betrayals. New secrets.

When Cassie Hobbes joined the FBI’s Naturals program, she had one goal: uncover the truth about her mother’s murder. But now, everything Cassie thought she knew about what happened that night has been called into question. Her mother is alive, and the people holding her captive are more powerful—and dangerous—than anything the Naturals have faced so far. As Cassie and the team work to uncover the secrets of a group that has been killing in secret for generations, they find themselves racing a ticking clock.

The bodies begin piling up, the deaths hit closer and closer to home, and it soon becomes apparent that this time, the Naturals aren’t just hunting serial killers.

They’re being hunted themselves.

Review:

Oh My Gosh! I have been dying to read this book for so long now and I have finally had the time to sit down and plow through it. With school, reading has become forgotten, but over winter break, I was able to finish this book in 2 days, which made me feel so much better.

This is, by far, the best book that Barnes has written(although, I tend to say that about all of her books). Having not read the series in almost a year, the writing is perfectly done that I was able to remember everything from the previous book after finishing the first chapter. What I thought was going to be the outcome, completely took an 180 and changed everything that I thought was going to happen.

But let me take a quick second to tell you my favourite crime couple ever. Dean and Cassie are couple goals, strange, but still. They are perfect for each other in such a weird way, that it actually makes sense and you are rooting for them all the way through the series.

Now back to the story. Have I mentioned that Jennifer Lynn Barnes is the queen of plot twists?! Ugh, I feel like after watching every season of Criminal Minds and CSI that I should be able to find out who the killer is by the end of the book, but nope, not with The Natural series. Who you think is the killer and who actually is the killer are two completely different people. The killers are always those that you least expect, and in this case, it really is.

This book had me at the edge of my seat wanting to finish it and find out how the real killer was once my theory was proven wrong. Never. Ever. Never, assume with crime novels.

Now, if it wasn’t already obvious I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO EVERYONE! With Jennifer Lynn Barnes being one of my favourite authors, anything she writes is perfection. This book is the perfect YA crime novel, that doesn’t have too much romance, but just enough that it will keep any reader interested. This series has been one of my favourite ones to read by far, and I am hoping for a spin-off series, because with how this book ended, how could there not be more?

screen-shot-2016-12-25-at-4-33-07-pm

Leave a Reply

