Book Review

The Cutaway | Book Review

Author: Christina Kovac

Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

Publishing Date: March 21, 2017

Publisher: 37INK/ Simon & Schuster

Summary:

The Newsroom meets Gone Girl.” —Cosmopolitan

The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.

When brilliant TV news producer Virginia Knightly receives a disturbing “MISSING” notice on her desk related to the disappearance of a beautiful young attorney, she can’t seem to shake the image from her head. Despite skepticism from her colleagues, Knightly suspects this ambitious young lawyer may be at the heart of something far more sinister, especially since she was last seen leaving an upscale restaurant after a domestic dispute. Yet, as the only woman of power at her station, Knightly quickly finds herself investigating on her own.

Risking her career, her life, and perhaps even her own sanity, Knightly dives deep into the dark underbelly of Washington, DC business and politics in an investigation that will drag her mercilessly through the inextricable webs of corruption that bind the press, the police, and politics in our nation’s capital.

Harkening to dark thrillers such as Gone GirlLuckiest Girl Alive, and Big Little LiesThe Cutaway is a striking debut that will haunt you long after you reach the last page.

Review:

Thank you so much to Simon & Schuster for sending and advanced copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

It is apparent that Christina Kovac is very knowledgeable on the subject matter of this book. Her knowledge and expertise add to the credibility of this exceptionally well-written novel.

Christina Kovac writes with a very sharp edge, a genuinely insightful eye towards subtle characterisation and can put together one hell of a story – a bit like her main character Virginia whose sudden obsession with a missing woman puts her on the trail of all sorts of shenanigans. Meanwhile, her workplace is in turmoil as a new boss starts messing with the status quo, the police investigation seems to be full of political motivation and there is Evelyn, gone in a relative puff of smoke, tying it all together as we wait to find out what has happened to her.

I really enjoyed reading about the newsroom. It was definitely different than reading about a case/mystery from the detective/police officers point of view.

Filled with considerable twists and turns, I was pulled into the world of journalism and I loved every second. I read this novel easily in the course of a couple of sittings. It was fast paced, dynamic and easily digested.

I did find that the novel lagged a little in the middle, enjoyable still, just not as fast paced, as I would have enjoyed. However, this is short-lived. By the end of the novel, the pace picks up and the end delivers!

For those enjoy fast paced reads with added mystery and thrills, this would be the perfect book to take on. Even if this is not your typical genre, I would certainly say to take a chance on a new author because you may find yourself fan-girling over Kovac’s debut novel.

screen-shot-2016-12-25-at-4-33-07-pm

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s