Book Review

Beauty and the Beast Book Tag

In honor of the new live-action Beauty and the Beast movie coming out today, I happened to come across this tag from the lovely NatashaReadsBooks. Be sure to check out her blog and if you aren’t following this blog yet, I highly suggest you do so!

Now, onto the tag!

“Tale As Old As Time” – A popular theme, trope, or setting you will never get bored of reading

I love YA & mystery/thrillers. No matter how many times I read about a serial killer in mysteries, I always get the kills. I am also a sucker for the second-lead syndrome, in which you want the main character to end up with the opposite one that they get. It’s a bad habit to get into, but I alway feel that those characters would fit better than the other pair.

“Belle” – A book bought for its beautiful cover
that’s just as beautiful inside too

The Graces by Laure Eve. The combinations of the purples and red with a hint of glitter to it is just stunning. Although I have heard that the story inside is not the greatest, the cover art is gorgeous.

“Beast” – A book you didn’t expect much
from but pleasantly surprised you

Hmm, there are quite a few books like this, many of which I have reviewed for publishing companies. For this, I am going to say most of my ARC books. The problem when picking ARC books is that you can’t read a sample from the book, and you are picking the book off of the cover and synopsis. Most of the times I enjoy reading them and I am very happy with the ones that I choose, but other times I have to push through them just to say I completed it.

“Gaston” – A book everyone loves that you don’t

Anything from John Green.  There is something about his writing that I can’t help but hate.

“Lefou” – A loyal sidekick you can’t help but
love more than their counterpart

I don’t recall reading any book in which a character had a sidekick since I have not had the opportunity to read many of the more popular books that include them.  If I do remember one, I will edit it in at some point.

“Mrs. Potts, Chip, Lumière & Cogsworth” – A book that helped you through a difficult time or that taught
you something valuable

All-American Boys by Brendan Kiely and Jason Reynolds. This books should be on everyone’s TBR pile. To relate to a book that has come out recently, it would be The Hate U Give (which is also on my TBR and To-Buy list). Both deal with situations that are relevant and present in today’s society, that being the discussion of racial conflicts.

“Something there” – A book series that you weren’t into at first but picked up towards the end

The True Born Series. When I first had the opportunity to read the first book, I thought it would just be one of the regular fantasy dystopian novels. But I was soo wrong. I have been waiting patiently for the next book to come out, which will be in May, so I am able to binge read it as soon as I get my hands on it.

“Be our guest” – A fictional character you’d
love to have for dinner

Xander from All The Feels, since he dresses like you’re eating dinner with a Victorian gentleman. The 10th doctor, David Tennant, because bowties are cool. Hook from Once Upon A Time (before he was corrupted into who he is now).  Finally, Loki and Thor, because who wouldn’t want to have a meal with 2 demi-gods!?


Phew, finally done. Now it’s time for me to get working on some more reviews to post and hopefully have a chance to go and see Beauty and the Beast, which comes out today!

screen-shot-2016-12-25-at-4-33-07-pm

Leave a Reply

