Bookish Extras

Why Are Libraries So Important?

So, I know this is not a usual post, but I feel like I need to get my say out in the world. After having my own library and other surrounding libraries closed for close to 250 days, I was able to realize how much I rely on the library, not only for books but for a quiet yet fun place.

Now before I get any further in this, let me explain why my libraries were closed. Last June, there were some discrepancies with the sick days and pay and such, but no one actually knew what was going on besides those in the libraries. There was little talk that was going on, so I was just informed from what my librarian had been telling me. Now, my mother and I always go to the library for the local crochet group when we were informed that starting the next week, all libraries would be closed. Thinking that it would just be a little strike that could not last longer than a few weeks to a month, there was not much we could do. Months went by, school ended and started back up again, and still there were no libraries that could be used. That was until 2 weeks ago (when I originally planned to make this post), a deal was made and we were able to regain our libraries back.

screen-shot-2017-02-28-at-5-12-40-pmLong story short, I love libraries!

With the libraries being closed, I noticed that there was a significant jump in my spending on books, as I was not able to borrow and return them like I had done previously. By borrowing books, I was able to find that if I didn’t enjoy a book, I hadn’t wasted any of my money on it.

 

Why didn’t I just listen to and audio book you may ask?screen-shot-2017-02-28-at-5-10-45-pm

Personally, I prefer to have a copy of the book in my hands. Audiobooks are all fine and dandy, but I also downloaded audiobooks through my library for free. No Library = No Audiobooks 😦

Other Uses…

Not only did I rely heavily on libraries to fuel my book obsession, but I found that I used them a lot to help with research for school assignments and projects. Without them, it became difficult explaining to teachers that I had nowhere to find the information besides online.

Finally, I found that by being in the library, I felt more relaxed and at peace. If I wanted to get away from my fscreen-shot-2017-02-28-at-5-09-40-pmamily because they were being loud, then I could walk over to the library, open a book and start reading. There was no one there to bother me and I could get stuff done. The walls of books provide a calming effect for all book lovers, which brings peace whenever you are surrounded by them.

In the end, I am grateful that my libraries are now open. I hope that this explanation as to why they are so important has made you want to go and visit your local library. Are there any reasons why you enjoy going to the library over everything else? Let me know in the comments down below!

screen-shot-2016-12-25-at-4-33-07-pm

One thought on “Why Are Libraries So Important?

Leave a Reply

