Dorothy Must Die | Book Review


Author: Danielle Paige

Rating: 2/5 Stars

Publication Date: April 1, 2014

Publisher: HarperCollins

Summary

I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero.

But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado – taking you with it – you have no choice but to go along, you know?

Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little bluebirds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still a yellow brick road – but even that’s crumbling.

What happened? Dorothy.

They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.

My name is Amy Gumm – and I’m the other girl from Kansas.

I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked.

I’ve been trained to fight.

And I have a mission.

Review

Okie Dokie. So a little while ago, my friends in my English program and myself thought that we should start off a book club on our own, because, well, were all English majors (except for one, but were not going to talk about her). We decided to name our group Hella Book Club, because why not. Now, this book surfaced on bookstagram a little while ago, and it had amazing reviews from some of the best book reviewers. Thinking that this book was all the hype that everyone gave it, we decided that this book was going to be the first book to read.

Boy, were we wrong.

Now, like the title says, Dorothy Must Die, and so must this book.

The notes that I took while reading this book were not the kindest…

But, I’m going to break down what they said for you. First off, way too many freaking characters! As I was going through, I counted 22 characters, and that was only about half way through the book. These characters were introduced, and then never heard from again. Now, as a writer myself, what is the point of introducing characters if they have no benefit to the storyline?

Secondly, forced romance. Now, I’m all for romance as much as the next person, but when it is forced between two characters, that is where I draw the line. The story line could have done without the relationship between the main character and the boy (I’m keeping out his name in case some of you want to read the book).

Finally, the gory deaths. This is supposed to be a sort of retelling, and if my memory is correct, I don’t recall there being such gory deaths in The Wizard of Oz. There is not even that gory of deaths in my murder mystery books. The exploding eyeballs and heads, I could have done WITHOUT those details as they did not improve the story line whatsoever.

Not all books that we choose will be what we expect them to be, this one being one of them. I hope that while this month’s book did not suit us, that the next book will be much better. Kepp your eyes open for the next book club book review.

screen-shot-2016-12-25-at-4-33-07-pm

Leave a Reply

