Book Review

The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett (ARC)| Book Review & Q&A

Author: Chelsea Sedoti

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Publisher: Sourcebooks

Publication Date: January 3, 2017

Summary:

A teenage misfit named Hawthorn Creely inserts herself in the investigation of missing person Lizzie Lovett, who disappeared mysteriously while camping with her boyfriend. Hawthorn doesn’t mean to interfere, but she has a pretty crazy theory about what happened to Lizzie. In order to prove it, she decides to immerse herself in Lizzie’s life. That includes taking her job… and her boyfriend. It’s a huge risk — but it’s just what Hawthorn needs to find her own place in the world.

Review:

Thank you so much to the publishing company, Raincoast Publishing, for sending me an advance copy of this novel in exchange for my honest opinion.

First off, this book is gripping, yet intertwines a strange tale of the hunt for a missing girl, which just happens to be one of the most memorable girls from high school. The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett is a twisty, complicated and compulsively-readable book that features one of the most complex and fascinating characters in any book I’ve ever read.

Hawthorn Creely, the main character, is tough but also extremely vulnerable, hurt by what other people say but still capable of absolutely DESTROYING her enemies (I would seriously read a whole book of her brutal comebacks). Hawthorn is funny/kind/hurt/blunt/lonely/private/pessimistic/hopeful. Her presence appears very human-like, in both her actions and the way she speaks, enabling readers to better understand and connect to the story. I love reading all her insane thoughts and her mind drifting and roaming to all those exciting places. I felt connected to her.

The overall plot is a mystery, which is the sudden disappearance of Lizzie Lovett. Hawthorn has a theory about what happened, so she decides to investigate. I thought this was GREAT. I was constantly guessing and trying to figure out what happened to Lizzie, and I found the twists and turns really rewarding.

To sum it all up, I really enjoyed this book. I think it’s a totally fresh read for YA, especially since ideas get used and reused, and I haven’t read anything like this before. I highly recommend that everyone goes and check this book out. Perfect for a quick read when you are in a reading slump 🙂


Q & A With Chelsea Sedoti

Screen Shot 2017-01-06 at 6.13.38 PM.jpg

What inspired you to write this novel? Was it a past experience, inspiration or a story that you have always wanted to tell?

The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett started a lot like Hawthorn’s journey in the book: With a newspaper article about a missing girl.

It wasn’t the most mysterious disappearance I’d ever read about. The girl had gone hiking and hadn’t returned. A lot of people thought she’d run away. But despite the seemingly straightforward story, and the fact that the girl was a complete stranger to me, I felt oddly drawn to the case.

So drawn to it, that I started checking daily for updates. I went online and read message boards where people speculated about where the girl had gone. I clipped articles about the disappearance from the newspaper.

After a couple weeks, it struck me that I was being really weird and obsessive about a girl I didn’t even know. And that got me thinking about how much stranger the situation could potentially get.

Say, for instance, there was a character who latched on to a missing persons case in a similar way. Say this character became more and more entangled in the situation. She’d probably come up with her own theory about the disappearance. A theory too ridiculous to be believed.

And that’s how Hawthorn Creely was born.

Once the idea became fully developed, I knew I needed to write Hawthorn’s story.

These days, whenever I see an article that catches my attention, or hear a snippet of conversation that sparks an idea, I make sure to write the idea down. Who knows? It might turn into a new book.

screen-shot-2016-12-25-at-4-33-07-pm

Leave a Reply

