Book Review

Twisted (ARC Review) | Book Review


Author: Hannah Jayne

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Received From: Raincoast Publishing

Publication Date: July 5th, 2016

Summary:

When her father is accused of being a serial killer, Bex becomes the ultimate bait in this game of cat and mouse

Bex is ready to start a new life in foster care. There, she won’t be known as a serial killer’s daughter. Though her father was never tried for the murders attributed to “The Wife Collector,” he disappeared after questioning. And Bex struggles with the guilt that she provided the circumstantial evidence that convicted him in the public’s perception—and drove him to abandon her.

But when a body turns up in her new hometown, all signs point to the Wife Collector. Bex’s old life isn’t ready to let her go. The police want to use Bex to lure in her father. But is she baiting a serial killer or endangering an innocent man?

Review:

Thank you so much to Raincoast Publishing for sending me a copy of this novel in exchange for my honest review. I do realize that I am a bit late in posting this review, but like has gotten in the way, and I am truly sorry. Anyways, onto the review.

I’m a bit torn on this one; it was a very intriguing YA novel that sucked me into the point where there was smoke coming off my fingers from flipping so quickly. Unfortunately, it was a bit predictable and I wish there had been a bit more meat to the story. I was very excited going into this because I was so ready for a good solid mystery and while this didn’t quite live up to some of her other work, it was still a fun time and a good escape read that I’m glad I read.

What I did love about this book were the characters. Where the mystery lacked, the parental influence and friends more than made up for. It is so rare to see parents of any kind in YA make an appearance, let alone be a big part of the book and that was so very refreshing.

What I did not enjoy was Bex’s character. She seemed a bit too naive and irrational. She seems to be trusting the wrong people, even though what she has been through should have been enough for her to know better.

I know this is YA, but there were a few aspects that were a little far-fetched but I was able to overlook it to enjoy the story.

Overall, I was engrossed in Twisted from the very beginning; there is an ominous vibe that gives you the chills and an ending that I didn’t expect!

-Read On Darlings!

8 thoughts on “Twisted (ARC Review) | Book Review”

Leave a Reply

