The Truth | Book Review


Author: Jeffry W. Johnston

Rating: 3.5/5 Stars

Received From: Barnes & Nobles

Summary:

Lie, torture, kill—there’s nothing Chris and Derek wouldn’t do for their younger brothers…

When Chris wakes up tied to a chair in a dark basement, he knows that he’s trapped—and why. He shot and killed Derek’s little brother. He had his reasons, but no matter how far Derek goes to uncover the truth about that night, Chris’s story won’t change. It can’t. There is far too much at stake…

Derek is desperate to prove his brother didn’t deserve to die. And if kidnapping his brother’s killer is the only way to the truth, then he’ll go to extremes. But Chris’s truth is far more dangerous than Derek could have imagined, and knowing could cost both their lives…

Review:

Picked this book up a little while back when we went on our family trip to Ohio. Seeing that it was a new YA novel that had recently come out, I decided to invest into it, but I feel that I was expecting a bit more than what I was given.

I found that right from the beginning, the story line started off a bit rocky. Right away, we are given no background info as to how the boy ended up in the basement, he is just there. Later on, through the flashbacks that are provided, we are able to understand how and why this has occurred.

I felt that this was one of my Criminal Minds or CSI episodes right from the start. Brother is accused of shooting an unarmed boy, while an officer, who is a close friend of the father, is feeding the boy a whole ton of lies. Although the book is short, it is jam-packed with information. An encouraging concept, which kept me reading to the end. Fast pacing, killing, and kidnapping, tied off with an explanation as to why these two characters clashed together, is what I expected from this genre.

Overall, I did enjoy the concept of this and found it an interesting read, but I felt that I already knew what was going to happen before I made it to the end of the novel. Right off from the start, you can tell that Chris, the main character, is hiding the truth. It is the simple concept of one must protect the family at all costs. This is shown through both of the families, as the older brothers feel that it is their duty to protect the innocence of their younger brothers.

It was not dreadful, but it wasn’t magnificent either. It was in between, let’s say considerable. Since I’m  used to reading thrillers, I would still recommend this to readers who love thrillers and I would love to know about their thoughts.

To sum it up, this book was an OKAY for me. And yes, I’m telling The Truth.

Read On Darlings!

Leave a Reply

