blog tour · Book Review

How It Ends | Book Review


Author: Catherine Lo

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Publication Date: June 7th, 2016

Summary:

There are two sides to every story.

It’s friends-at-first-sight for Jessie and Annie, proving the old adage that opposites attract. Shy, anxious Jessie would give anything to have Annie’s beauty and confidence. And Annie thinks Jessie has the perfect life, with her close-knit family and killer grades. They’re BFFs…until suddenly they’re not.

Told through alternating points of view, How It Ends is a wildly fast but deeply moving read about a friendship in crisis. Set against a tumultuous sophomore year of bullying, boys and backstabbing, the novel shows what can happen when friends choose assumptions and fear over each other.

Review:

Thank you so much to Raincoast Books for including me in this book tour, in exchange for my honest review of the novel. I am super excited to be one of the first to post my review of this amazing novel!

When I first started reading this book, I was a bit cautious as to whether or not I was going to like it as the book started off right away with the girls wanting to be friends. It seemed abrupt at the time, but as I got deeper into the novel, I understand why the book had started off like this.

Catherine describes how many of us often feel in high school: awkward, quiet and still trying to discover who we are and who we want to known as when we leave high school. When Annie, the cool girl, offers to become friends with Jessie, the wallflower of the story, it is no wonder why Jessie stuck to her. This was her first friendship that she has had, and it had meant everything to her, before it had all started to fall apart.

This story tackles multiple subjects that many run into when they are going through high school (much like myself), so I was able to relate to much of this story. Jealously, love, competitiveness and friendship are all re-accuring themes that are present in this novel. This novel is brutally honest in terms of how friendships fall apart and how it affects both parties, both positively and negatively.  I loved how this book focuses on friendship, as I prefer a strong group of friends to a couple any day. I definitely enjoyed reading about Jessie and Annie’s adventures together.

The only part that I did not enjoy from this book was the ending. It seemed a bit pushed, but other than that, it was a fabulous book that told a touching story.

For those who think that this novel will be another one of those fluffy YA novels, you are greatly mistaken.  This novel deals with everything from divorce to mental illness. This book is both relatable and realistic, teens in high school will be scooping it off the shelves (much like I did). Highly recommend this book to everyone, even as a teen book club book, as I am pretty sure that everyone will be able to relate to this book in one way or another.

-Read On Darlings!

Leave a Reply

