How It Ends | Author Q&A

To go along with my review of the amazing book, How It Ends, I also had the opportunity to ask the author, Cathrine Lo a question about her novel. So, without further ado, I bring to you my interview with the fabulous Cathrine Lo.

Screen Shot 2016-06-21 at 3.44.29 PM.jpg

Question:

The entire story revolves around the two main characters, Annie and Jessie, who are starting their grade 10 year. How did you get into the mindset of writing from a teenage girls perspective, and was it hard to write?

Answer:

As a high school teacher, I spend the majority of my days with teenagers, so I think that
helped me enormously when writing Annie and Jessie. The biggest challenge was moving back and forth between their two perspectives because the girls are quite different. To do
that, I tried to focus on one character at a time and really immerse myself in her mindset. I wanted to capture both girls as realistically as possible, so that readers could see both sets of experiences and both sides of the story.

Thank you so  much to Raincoast for giving me this opportunity and thank you so much to Catherine Lo for answering my questions. Everyone, be sure to check out How It Ends, which is on shelves now!

Read On Darlings!

Leave a Reply

