Book Review

Before a Million Universes | Book Review


Author: T.W.R. Shelton

Rating: 5/5 Stars

Summary:

Winged creatures are falling from the sky.
Untruths are surfacing.
A city is dying.
Seventeen-year-old Maxwell Odyssey never wanted to save the world.
Now she has no choice.

 

Review:

Thank you so much to the author T.W.R Shelton for sending me a copy of this novel in exchange for my honest review.

I have always enjoyed dystopian and futuristic books, so when this copy showed up on my door step, I was ecstatic!

This book is different from other dystopian novels, in a good way of course! Shelton has a way of delving into the religion, but not make it look like her fiction is being forced down your throat. Thankfully, a lot of the angels have characteristics that they do in other fictional books, movies, and TV shows I’ve read or watched. I love the show Supernatural, and I feel like maybe some ideas in this book are shared with the show. I absolutely love it.

This story had tons of twists and turns which kept me on my toes. I loved that I was on the last chapter, and I literally did not know what to expect from the following pages. It also changes between the present, where we get Max’s story, and the past where we get to experience the relationship of Max’s parents. The balance that the author created between these tow was perfect, as it helped the story flow from one point to another. I absolutely loved the concept of falling angels and the connection between them and humans. It was also interesting how Shelton talked about how painful it was for angels to assume human bodies because of the hardships that humans go through. Putting that into perspective was ingenious and I loved being able to see humans through an angel’s eyes.

This book is not for the faint of heart. There are only a few scenes in which there are some more gruesome parts. For me this is nothing since I practically live off of gruesome tv shows. It takes some great storytelling to make your readers feel the same disgust and horror that the characters are feeling.

I know many people who would love this book, with me being one. I hope Shelton decides Anyone who wants to read a Dystopian novel that involves fantasy themes should definitely read “Before a Million Universes”.

-Read On Darlings!

3 thoughts on “Before a Million Universes | Book Review

Leave a Reply

