Book Review

Frayed (ARC Novel) | Book Review

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Author: Kara Terzis

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Publication Date: June 2016

Summary:

Dear Kesley,

My therapist tells me I should write you a letter. Like flushing all my thoughts and feelings out of my system and onto paper. I tell her it’s a stupid idea.

But here I am, writing a letter to a dead girl. Where do I start? Where did our story begin? From the moment you were born…or died?

I’ll start with the moment I found out the truth about you. Your lies and my pain. Because it always begins and ends with you.
And that end began when Rafe Lawrence came back to town…

Ava Hale will do anything to find her sister’s killer…although she’ll wish she hadn’t. Because the harder Ava looks, the more secrets she uncovers about Kesley, and the more she begins to think that the girl she called sister was a liar. A sneak. A stranger.

And Kesley’s murderer could be much closer than she thought…

A debut novel from Wattpad award-winner Kara Terzis, Frayed is a psychological whodunit that will keep you guessing!

Review:

Thank you so much to Raincoast Publishing for sending this novel in exchange for an honest review.

Well, what can I say. I mean, a mystery thriller with a twist, that is just the type of book for me. At at times, is was completely fantastical and unrealistic yet I still read on curious to know the answers to all the mystery that surrounded Kelsey’s death.

The characters were very hard to like or feel anything for and yet you couldn’t help be fascinated by them. Longing to know what exactly their role was in everything that had transpired. Sometimes predictable but still enough mystery to garner turning the pages and finding out more, this was definitely a read like no other, good or bad. Frayed kept me guessing throughout — and that’s a huge plus. I cared enough about the characters to get involved.

This story is told solely from Ava’s POV, as she tries to find a new direction in her life, while recovering from the death of her sister Kesley.

I didn’t guess the “whodunit,” though I really tried. Many potential suspects are offered, so that is another plus: the story offered enough surprises to keep me on my mystery-solving toes. The mystery surrounding Kelsey’s death was really interesting and just when I thought I had it all figured out, the story turned upside down and confused me all over again. I like it when a book does that though, I like to be shocked. It wasn’t predictable in the slightest.

I really liked this book. It started out a bit slow but it soon picked up. It was a really quick and easy read.

Overall, I do really recommend this book. And I’m superhappy I ended up enjoying it more than I thought I would. Frayed is an excellent debut noveland I recommend checking it out if you like mystery novels.

-Read On Darlings!

 

Leave a Reply

