Book Review

Speak | Book Review


Author: Laurie Halse Anderson

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Summary:

Melinda Sordino busted an end-of-summer party by calling the cops. Now her old friends won’t talk to her, and people she doesn’t even know hate her from a distance. The safest place to be is alone, inside her own head. But even that’s not safe. Because there’s something she’s trying not to think about, something about the night of the party that, if she let it in, would blow her carefully constructed disguise to smithereens. And then she would have to speak the truth. This extraordinary first novel has captured the imaginations of teenagers and adults across the country.

Review:

First off, I ended up reading this book as apart of a local book club, next moth our book is The Book Thief and I’m Really looking forward to reading that book as well.

I’m trying to think of ways to go about describing this book, and I’m not really sure how to start. It’s dark, depressing, terrifying, and amazing. Everyone should read it. You might hate it, but it is a must read for sure. Much has been said about how important this book is for teens, particularly those who have experienced what Melinda experiences, and I agree with that. But what I was surprised to discover as I read it was that I really enjoyed it. The main idea did not present itself right at the start if the story, but instead more towards the end you were able to piece together what had happened to Melinda.

The main reason I loved this book is because I was very, very similar to Melinda in high school. Her attitude about school, her cynicism towards the whole “high school is the best time of your life” crap, her opinions about classes and teachers and the uselessness of guidance counselors…that was me. I kind of wished I could transport myself into the story, so Melinda and I could sneer at pep rallies together.

“THE FIRST TEN LIES THEY TELL YOU IN HIGH SCHOOL
1. We are here to help you.
2. You will have enough time to get to your class before the bell rings.
3. The dress code will be enforced.
4. No smoking is allowed on school grounds.
5. Our football team will win the championship this year.
6. We expect more of you here.
7. Guidance counselors are always available to listen.
8. Your schedule was created with your needs in mind.
9. Your locker combination is private.
10. These will be the years you will look back on fondly.”

I feel as though I can somewhat relate to Melinda, as some incidents that have happened in her life have happened in mine. Nothing to severe, but the whole ex-best friend hatred and wanting to be secluded. As well not talking in class, well that pretty much my life summed up in a single book.

If you have not read this book yet, it should defiantly be apart of your TBR selection. everyone should read this book at some point in their life as it can relate to you know or it could bring you back to your life in high school.

-Read On Darlings!

Leave a Reply

