Book Review

And Then There Were None | Book Review


Author: Agatha Christie

Rating: 2.5/5 Stars

Summary:

First, there were ten – a curious assortment of strangers summoned as weekend guests to a private island off the coast of Devon. Their host, an eccentric millionaire unknown to all of them, is nowhere to be found. All that the guests have in common is a wicked past they’re unwilling to reveal – and a secret that will seal their fate. For each has been marked for murder. One by one they fall prey. Before the weekend is out, there will be none. And only the dead are above suspicion
Review:

So this book was recommended for me to read after my review on Ten, which in fact was based off of this novel, ‘And Then There Were None’. Now don’t get me wrong, Agatha Christie is the queen of murder mystery. I believe her novels are overlooked in the present English ciriculum, so many people are not introduced into her writing style. Anyways, here is my PERSONAL review on the novel. Some may not like it, but no one else’s views or opinions have influenced my review.

I really did not enjoy this book whatsoever. Actually, I made it halve way then I was unable to finish it because my brain could not focus on the storyline. I found that the story started off very slow and never got anywhere. Although there was amazing character development throughout the story, I felt as thou I was unable to fully connect with any of the characters. Many of the chapters were ‘book fluff’ filled with pointless dialogue that did not improve or change the story. The language was very mature and the writing style was in the form of Old English. Many people do not fully understand the concept or words used in Old English, me being partly one of them. For a few of the words, I had to look up, others I knew from previous books and TV shows (thank you Criminal Minds). Overall, I just believe that the book was not right for me, but it could be perfect for someone else who enjoys this style of writing.

In a comparison between both ‘Ten’ and ‘And Then There Were None’, I suggest That with me being apart of the newer generation, that teenagers and YA lovers would enjoy ‘Ten’ a lot more than ‘And Then There Were None’. The storyline starts off right away and all the characters are teenagers so they are easier to connect with and follow.

It is not that I do not love every mystery novel I come into contact with, but some are hard to connect with, making it extremly difficult to complete the book.

•••

Has there ever been a novel that everyone tells you to read yet when you do you do not enjoy the books? Tell me in the comments below.

Read One Darlings

Leave a Reply

